Profile

Christof Schöch is Professor of Digital Humanities at the University of Trier, Germany, and Co-Director of the Trier Center for Digital Humanities. He is also chair of the COST Action Distant Reading for European Literary History and president of the Digital Humanities Association for the German-speaking area (DHd).

Education

Christof Schöch studied Romance languages, English and Psychology in Freiburg and Tours. His master’s thesis was on French contemporary writer François Bon (cf. www.tierslivre.net). In 2008, he obtained his PhD in French Literature with a study of La Description double dans le roman des Lumières 1760-1800 (binational programme Kassel / Paris IV-Sorbonne). The thesis has been awarded the Prix Germaine de Stael 2010 and published with Classiques Garnier. From 2004 to 2011, he has been a research assistant at the Institute of Romance Languages and Literatures at Kassel University. From 2011 to 2017, he has been a research associate at the Department for Literary Computing at University of Würzburg, first as a researcher in the DARIAH-DE (Digital Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities) inititative, then as leader of the Computational Literary Genre Stylistics group. In 2017, he received the offer to join Trier University as Full Professor of Digital Humanities.

Areas of interests

Christof’s interests in research and teaching are located at the confluence of French literary studies and Digital Humanities. His methodological focus is on Computational Literary Studies (quantitative methods of text analysis, building of digital textual resources, legal aspects). In terms of materials, he is focusing on French Classical and Enlightenment drama as well as on the modern and contemporary French novel. He is also interested in new forms of scholarly publishing and collaboration and pleads for Open Access / Open Science in the Humanities. He is an active member of the Romance Studies and Digital Humanities communities.

Activities

Publications, Talks, Classes and more are listed in the activities section. You can set a range of filters there to display, for example, recent publications, talks outside Germany or research software.

Contact

schoech@uni-trier.de | @christof77

Profil

Professor für Digital Humanities an der Universität Trier und Ko-Direktor des Trier Center for Digital Humanities. Chair der COST Action Distant Reading for European Literary History und Vorsitzender des Verbands Digital Humanities im deutschsprachigen Raum (DHd).

Werdegang

Das Studium der Romanistik, Anglistik und Psychologie in Freiburg und Tours hat Christof Schöch mit einer Arbeit über François Bon abgeschlossen. 2008 wurde er in der französischen Literaturwissenschaft mit einer Arbeit über La Description double dans le roman français des Lumières 1760-1800 (binationale Promotion Kassel / Paris) promoviert. Die Arbeit wurde mit dem Prix Germaine de Stael 2010 ausgezeichnet und ist bei Classiques Garnier erschienen. Von 2004 bis 2011 war er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in französischer Literaturwissenschaft am Institut für Romanistik der Universität Kassel. Von 2011-2017 war er am Lehrstuhl für Computerphilologie der Universität Würzburg beschäftigt, zunächst im Rahmen von DARIAH-DE (Digital Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities), dann als Leiter der BMBF-Nachwuchsgruppe Computergestützte literarische Gattungsstilistik. 2017 erfolgte der Ruf auf die Professur für Digital Humanities an der Universität Trier.

Interessen

Die Schwerpunkte Christof Schöchs in Forschung und Lehre liegen im Bereich der digitalen Literaturwissenschaften (quantitative Analyse literarischer Texte, Aufbau von Ressourcen, Linked Open Data, urheberrechtliche Aspekte). Inhaltlich stehen die französischen Klassik und Aufklärung sowie der moderne französische Roman im Fokus von Christof Schöchs Interesse. Außerdem interessiert er sich für neue digitale Formen wissenschaftlichen Schreibens und Publizierens, ist in der Romanistik und den Digital Humanities aktiv und plädiert für Open Access und Open Science in den Geisteswissenschaften.

Aktivitäten

Publikationen, Vorträge, Lehrveranstaltungen, Events, Projekte und Weiteres sind im Bereich Aktivitäten verzeichnet. Dort kann man nach Wunsch filtern: bspw. nach neueren PublikationenVorträgen im Ausland, derzeit laufenden Projekten, verschiedenen Aktivitäten rund um Open Science, mit Einsatz von Topic Modeling, zur Entwiclung von Forschungssoftware, oder Aktivitäten mit Maciej Eder, und vieles mehr.

Kontakt

schoech@uni-trier.de | @christof77

Identifier

ORCID | Wikidata | GND